Our ref: Standards Sub 24.2.16

Contact: Ian Gourlay

Direct Dial No.: 01462 474403 Email:ian.gourlay@north-herts.gov.uk

To: The Members of the Standards Sub-Committee of North Hertfordshire District Council

District Councillors Mike Rice (Chairman), Alan Millard and Steve Hemingway.

Mr Nicholas Moss (Independent Person) - advisory role

Acting Deputy Monitoring Officer – Gavin Miles (Broxbourne Borough Council)

You are invited to attend a

## MEETING OF THE STANDARDS SUB-COMMITTEE

To be held in the

## COMMITTEE ROOM 1, COUNCIL OFFICES, GERNON ROAD, LETCHWORTH

on

WEDNESDAY, 24 FEBRUARY 2016 THURSDAY, 25 FEBRUARY 2016 FRIDAY, 26 FEBRUARY 2016 at 10.00a.m.

Yours sincerely,

David Miley

**Democratic Services Manager** 

## AGENDA PART I

ITEM		PAGE
1.	APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE	-
2.	NOTIFICATION OF OTHER BUSINESS  Members should notify the Chairman of other business which they wish to be discussed by the Committee at the end of the business set out in the agenda. They must state the circumstances which they consider justify the business being considered as a matter of urgency.	-
	The Chairman will decide whether the item(s) raised will be considered.	
3.	CHAIRMAN'S ANNOUNCEMENTS	-
	Members are reminded that any declarations of interest in respect of any business set out in the agenda, should be declared as either a Disclosable Pecuniary Interest or Declarable Interest and are required to notify the Chairman of the nature of any interest declared at the commencement of the relevant item on the agenda. Members declaring a Disclosable Pecuniary Interest must withdraw from the meeting for the duration of the item. Members declaring a Declarable Interest which requires they leave the room under Paragraph 7.4 of the Code of Conduct, can speak on the item, but must leave the room before the debate and vote.	
4.	MINUTES OF SUB-COMMITTEE MEETING – 2 DECEMBER 2015	-
5.	COMPLAINT OF FAILURE TO OBSERVE THE CODE OF CONDUCT DETERMINATION OF STANDARDS COMPLAINT  To conduct a Hearing in relation to a complaint that District Councillor David Leal-Bennett failed to observe the Councillors Code of Conduct.	
	File 1	
	Standards Sub-Committee Hearing Procedure	A-C
	Acting (external) Deputy Monitoring Officer's Report	I - VII
	Appendix A (to Deputy Monitoring Officer's Report)	VIII - XIII
	Bevan Brittan LLP Investigator's Report	1-28
	Appendix One	29-46
	Appendix Two	47-56
	Appendix Three	57-271
	Appendix Four	272-280
	Appendix Five	281-329
	Appendix Six	330-447
	Bevan Brittan LLP Supplemental Investigator's Report	448-497

File 2

List of Statements	498-499
1 Councillor David Leal-Bennett	500-527
2 Mr Charles Bunker	528-547B
3 Councillor Dr Simon Harwood	548-551
4 The Rt Hon Peter Lilley MP	552-555
5 Mr Matt Stephens	556-559
6 Mrs Judy Simmonds	560-561
7 Mr John Simmonds	562-563
8 Mr Stephen Pike	564-573
9 Mrs Rosemary Read	574-579
10 Mrs Janet Morrison	580-583
11 Mrs Rosemary Scott	584-587
12 Mr Brent Smith	588-591
13 Mr David Morgan	592-595
14 Mr Keith Hoskins	596-597
15 Mr Christopher Parker	598-617
16 Dr & Mrs Michael Clarke	618-627
17 Councillor Claire Strong	628-631
18 Councillor David Levett	632-635
19 Councillor James McNally	636-639
20 Councillor John Harris	640-643
21 Conservative Councillors Association	644-653
22 Mrs Norma Atlay	654-657
23 Ms Liz Green	658-659
Exhibits	660-1107